Saving a search

If you find yourself often re-creating a custom search definition, you can save it to Managerʼs list of saved searches, so that it will appear in the Query Name drop-down list at the top of the data list.

The same list appears at the top of the the Search dialog. To refresh it, click the Refresh icon .

Saved searches can be shared or private. Shared searches are visible to any user; private ones only to the person who created them. The Private and Shared check boxes to the right of the list box determine whether the list displays your private saved searches, all public saved searches, or both. (This setting also controls the display in the data list.)

To create and save a search:

Search dialog tool bar

  1. On the Search dialog tool bar, click the Create New Search button. All the fields in the Search dialog are cleared.

  2. To create a new saved search from an existing one, click the adjacent “Create New Search copying this Search” icon.

  3. In the Search dialog, enter search values to find the records you want to retrieve. (Remember that you may need to enter values in fields on additional tabs.)

  4. In the search definition box, replace the string 'New Search Definition' with the name you want to assign to the new saved search. The name can be up to 39 characters long, and should be as descriptive as possible.

  5. On the tool bar, click the Save Search icon to store the search definition.

Manager stores the search with the status private. To make it visible to all users, click the icon to the left of the search definition box. The icon changes to , indicating that the saved search is now shared: this means that it will appear on the list of available saved searches only when the Shared box is checked. To change it back, click again.

To rename a saved search:

  1. In the Search dialog, select the saved search you want to rename. (You can only rename searches that you own.)

  2. In the search definition list box, type the new name.

  3. On the tool bar, click the Save Query button.

Owning and publishing searches

Every saved search is owned by the user who created it; only that user can save changes to it or delete it. (To make permanent changes to another userʼs search, you must copy it and save it as your own.)

Λctiv8 Manager Administrators can delete any userʼs searches, or mark them 'Private,' but canʼt change them.

To protect a saved search from inadvertent changes — by yourself or anyone else — you can publish it. Publishing a search assigns it to the owner “Stored Query,” so that no other user will be able to change or delete it.

To publish a saved search:

  1. In the Search dialog, select the saved search you want to publish.

  2. On the tool bar, click the Publish icon. 

Viewing the SQL statement

When you perform any search, Manager converts the conditions you enter to a series of statements in the structured query language (SQL); these can be especially helpful for troubleshooting problems with database searches. To view the database query in this form, select it and click the “Display Search in Search Language” icon.  Manager displays the SQL in a separate window; you can copy the text from there and paste it into a lookup list filter or an e-mail to Λctiv8 support.


Related topics:

Finding data records

Creating a new search

Saving a search